Speaking the truth in love.

One thing I have found out in my discussion/ debates/ question with others about sensitive/hot button issues is this; the truth is not painful, but the way in which you present the truth can be. Speaking the truth in love can help others to see the error of their ways. Proverbs 15:1 tells us that a gentle/soft tongue can turn away wrath but grievous words stir up anger. I have personally found this to be true. Not that I sugarcoat anything. That is not my style, but I do gauge my audience so that I can know who I am speaking too, and in what way the truth should be delivered. I have found that a simple mental check and understanding of where they are makes a huge difference. So while you may be speaking the truth, if not done in the correct way, it STILL can be a hindrance and/or fall on deaf ears. Maybe that’s why they haven’t listened? The problem is not with the truth the problem may be in the way in which and the person from which it was delivered.

People are not often upset that you told them the truth, they are more often upset about HOW you told them. Did you do it in an accusing manner? Were you malicious in your delivery? Judgmental? Condescending? Or just plain ole rude? Maybe you should try softening it up a bit and looking at it from the other persons perspective. We too often fail to put ourselves in the other persons shoes. What sets us apart from the other person is one decision, one moment, one wrong turn. We are no better than the person we are trying to “help”.

Leave a Reply

