Stealing some time….

This is the first time in a while that I have been able to steal some time to myself at this time of night. It feels lovely.  One would think that I would be writing a prolific piece of poetry.  Problem with that train of thought would be the fact that I haven’t had the desire to write a poem in a long time.  Yes I still love it, but I have allowed busyness to stifle the writer in me. I am surprised that I am even writing this blog. Prayerfully it will spark the poet/writer/author in me to begin anew. As I reflect on today I am grateful for all of the things in my life; the good, the bad, the ugly and the downright ratchet. Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair, but it hasn’t been a prison either. I have my family under one roof tonight and that brings joy to my heart. I was reminded today by my daughter that life is not a sprint, but a journey replete with ups, downs, hills, mountains, valleys, good and bad. There is beauty all around if we would just stop and savor the glory of God’s creation. It would do us well to look at the signs as well. Sometimes life throws us curve balls that are meant to stop us in our tracks. Make us sit still and listen. I’ve had several of those.  I was put on bed rest a month before my due date (didn’t rest or rejuvenate), I haven’t gotten much rest since the baby has been here. Today I realized that I wouldn’t be able to go back to school as planned. I almost got upset and then the Holy Spirit whispered that God was giving me another chance to sit still, listen, savor the moment and make memories to find my way back to him, back to me.
THAT I can deal with.
Good night.

2 thoughts on “Stealing some time….

Leave a Reply

